Uncle Marty’s Kilt Run 2014

Image
Ella and I post race

Saturday’s forecast called for a 45 degree day….Unfortunately, it was no where near that, in-fact it was FREEZING with sleet and snow… none the less the race must go on and so it did.  I arrived at this race literally, 10 minutes before I was suppose to run due to the fact that I somehow printed off the wrong directions (go figure).

Image
I ran into one of my co-workers, he was definitely more festive than me

Luckily, I had just enough time to get my packet, which was easy to find, and use the bathroom.  It was a small race of 327 people and the first half of the course was all uphill.  They always say, “what goes up, must come down”, however, I worked so hard on the up that the coming down did nothing for me.  I ran 22:22, not even close to my PR but I was the the third girl in and 18th overall, and while I am disappointed in my time it has definitely fueled my fire to really get my butt in gear and get in shape.

Overall, it was a nice race.  I would definitely do it again.  There were activities to keep my kids occupied and happy, beer to keep my hubby happy, and good food to keep my mother-in-law happy.  They gave out awards to top three overall (men and women) and had pretty nice swag bags for us (pint glass, gym membership at the Y, water bottle, pen and flash light set, and of course my medal:)  Next year I will just remember to be more prepared for the hills and of course have a WAY better outfit.

Image

Leave a Reply

