Race Recap & a Little R&R (sorry it’s a long one)

Thankfully Spring is finally here! Saturday morning was beautiful!  the sun was shining, there was a slight breeze and I felt great… I was even more excited than usual because Brady was going to be running his first kid race (not because I forced him to but because he really wanted to and has been asking for weeks to run a race).

Michael had to work so my dad came and watched Brady for me while I ran.  He and Brady were the BEST cheerleaders… they were at the starting line when I took off and at the finish line when I was done…. I still haven’t come to grips with having my children watch me race, I know it sounds nuts but I get choked up every time I hear them cheering for me, I’m not going to lie I’m getting choked up just typing this!

ANYWAYS, I arrived at 9am to sign up for the race and everything was pretty much ready to go and super organized (BONUS)!  There was a good amount of people and a lot of younger high school aged kids.  The race went of at 10am and the first 2.5 miles of this race were awesome… I felt great and I was first woman…. UNTIL I met the hill.  The issue with the hill was that it was decieving becasue just as you think you are getting to the top it switches direction and continues on.  I’m not going to lie, I let out and “oh shit” (probably should used that energy to get up the hill faster).  This was also where I got passed.  Luckily, she was the only one and I ended up getting second.

photo (1)

My only legit complaint is that I run for hardware…and they gave out coffee mugs.  There were a lot of young kids running and I know that coffee mugs are not super exciting for them as well.  I know it seems petty, but I was pretty disappointed.

Around 12, they had the kids run and while Brady was not graceful to say the least, but he finished with a HUGE smile.  He had a great time, and that truly is all that matters to me:)  I’m not going to lie, I definitely cried.  It was the first time he didn’t need anyone. He just went out there and ran without us holding his hand.  I know, I know, it won’t be the last time, but it WAS the first time:(.

photo (2)

I didn’t run Sunday or Monday because honestly, I just wasn’t feeling it.  I needed to take some mommy time that I very rarely get but was fortunate to get.  Life can get crazy as an adult and there is very little time for doing things that you want to do because there are so many things you HAVE to do…. So Sunday evening, Michael watched the kids and I got to meet up with one of my favorite people Ashley!!!  We ran high school track together, were each others maids of honor and she is Ella’s God Mother… LOVES her to pieces.  But with all of that said I rarely get to see her so it was sooooooo much fun and way over due to meet up for cocktails at the Melting Pot…

ashni

Then Monday my dad watched the kids so that my friend Dotty and I could go paint the town beige… I say beige because we are moms now and our fun factor isn’t what it once was… Because it was going to be 80 degrees we wanted to be outside so we decided to head to Saratoga (for those of you who haven’t been, its a definite hot spot in the summer).  We started with lunch and a cocktail at Druthers… We shared a pulled pork sandwich and pulled pork mac and cheese… TO.DIE.FOR!!!!

dottynme

Then we headed over to Needlewurks… where I decided to get my nose pierced… no judgement! I had one when I lived in London, I loved it and I wanted to it back… soooo, I did it and I.LOVE.IT!

After getting my nose pierced we thought we hit up The Stadium (another great restaurant), where we had another cocktail and just enjoyed having a few kid free minutes… we finished mommy day by walking around, doing a little shopping and just enjoying the weather because it’s suppose to be back down to 39 degrees tomorrow…. GREAT (SARCASM)!

So here I am, back to mommywood and running (where I am most comfrtable). And while I missed two beautiful days of running and today it’s crappy and rainy, I’m still looking forward to running because I FINALLY sucked it up and got my brand new Garmin!!!!

garmin

How was your weekend?

Do you have take me time? What do you do?

 

6 thoughts on “Race Recap & a Little R&R (sorry it’s a long one)

  1. Congrats on the new Garmin!

    I don’t have kids, but I get choked up when my husband cheers me along the sidelines with out dogs, so I will probably be a hot mess when we have kids and they are old enough to cheer for me.

    1. I LOVE that! I’m happy I’m not the only one….I just hope that they are as proud of me as I am of them… Brady’s so funny bc he’s always saying when am I going to run my race like mommy… Kind of makes me think, yup, right now I’m pretty awesome in his eyes👍

  2. My stepdaughter begs to come running with me..I finally agreed to get her running shoes and we’re going on our first run together soon!
    I love that you get choked up over having your kids there, it’s a beautiful thing!

    1. Aww… I love that she wants to go running with you! Such great bonding time! How old is she?
      You know what gets me, I blast my music for most of my race, but when I run by them I turn it way down, and it’s their little tiny voices that I hear!’… It’s so precious! I’ve been running a long time and I appreciate it the most now!

Leave a Reply

