Hills for Dinner & Having It All

Sorry for such a LATE post but I actually got to go for a light morning run, followed by some Easter shopping  for the kids, and grocery shopping for life…. ugh… this was SUPPOSE to be this mornings post…. Wish me luck in the AM, Cops and Joggers… here I come….

hills

While I typically try to avoid large hills during my runs, the Hungry Runner Girl’s post about hills inspired me to stop being a baby and get my a$$ in gear… I’m not going to lie, I have been super lazy about my runs and even worse about my hills….I’ve been doing the bare minimum and as a result out of the three races I’ve run this year, I have consistently been the second female.  Listen, there is nothing wrong with second, but my times are crap as well and when I sit down and think about all of the factors, at the end of the day there is really only one thing that stands out… I’m NOT putting the time in.  I’m not going to lie, living in Mommywood and trying to balance life is hard enough, and now I throw the “not only do I want to run but I want to be competitive” dagger into the mix of it all.  Sadly, something has to suffer and for me it was my training….

In the last few weeks I have been doing some soul searching, trying to figure out what REALLY makes me happy and where I expect my life to go and the bottom-line is that I REALLY can have it all… there will have to be some shifting around of things but I LOVE running so much that I don’t want to have to compromise it,  My kids will always be number one but I realized this week that I can balance it AND keep everyone happy.

Luckily this week I didn’t have to work so when I chose to go running I didn’t feel guilty… step one of getting my self back and attempting to be competitive again.. so after michael got out of work I decided to run my typical route, backwards.  Ok no biggie right?! LIES! It was totally a biggie! It was one giant, six mile hill…. the first two miles was the worst and I held on… slowly.  At the time I wanted to die but in hindsight I’m so proud of myself for actually doing it.  I always say I’m going to do that run and then I panic and decide against it.  In the future I will be adding that work out in more frequently and I’m also hoping that it pays off for Saturday’s race because I am familiar with the location and there is only way out of the park, and that is up…..

What are some awesome hill work outs you guys are doing? I’m clearly in need of some help

9 thoughts on “Hills for Dinner & Having It All

  1. There are hills everywhere around here so I don’t really do any specific hill workouts – I have started running steps every once in awhile and it seems to have helped!

  2. I used to avoid hills too, then realized there is no where to run in MD that didn’t have hills! However I was terrible with my hill training over the winter, a lot of snow=too many training miles on a treadmill, and the hills definitely got me on my last race! So I need to get my butt in gear too! My hill workouts have never been structured at all so I don’t have any tips to share other than just NOT avoiding hills when planning out running routes. Even if you have to run slower pace, you’ll benefit in the end! 🙂

    1. Same here in “fancy” upstate NY… No matter where I go there are hills… You are sooo right thought… they really do help, I’ve actually decided to add it to my work out plans… It’s a necessary evil:(

      1. I usually LOVE hills! I was just so lackadaisical with my training over the winter! Lots of slow, “head in the cloud” runs! Haha I had the teeniest little incline wind me today! Officially time for me to get back on the hill training!

  3. My coach has be do hill intervals every other week, where I run up for 2 minutes at 5K pace, then back down (easy), up for 4 minutes at 5K pace, then back down (easy), increasing my time by 2 minute increments until I hit 10 minutes. The rest intervals are really important when doing hills. Hills aren’t my favorite, but they definitely help to increase strength and speed. happy hill climbing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

