YOLO- Inspiration that pushed me to “insanity”

Image

I was reading some blogs yesterday, when I checked out my friend Danica on ChicRunner and seen that she registered (yesterday) for a marathon that will be run on May 25. Some may say that is insane… one month of training?!  Not this psycho, I got this crazy rush because I have been eyeing the Buffalo Marathon, which is run the same weekend. I have been dancing back and forth because I know it is kind of SOON, but I knew that I’d really like to get a marathon under my belt before the fall and after a lot of research those hopes fell flat, that was until I read the ChicRunner’s post and decided, I’m in pretty good shape, I have a month, YOLO! and with that, I DID IT! I registered for the marathon! So there you have it, I’m actually going to do a marathon this spring and it’s going to be the Buffalo Marathon on May 25, 2014..

.Image

 

This MAY be crazy, but for now I’m siked !!!Wish me luck!!!!

15 thoughts on “YOLO- Inspiration that pushed me to “insanity”

  1. Awesome! I’m running a half on the 18th of May and despite already running 2 halves this year, I’m a little pressed for training myself. Especially since I’m going on vacation the week before! Either way, it will be interesting! Good luck!

    1. Good luck doll! I’m sure you are going to do great…Just have fun with it, that is what I’m going to try to do… I just want one “good” one under my belt before trying to BQ in the fall… apparently I run 26.2 miles for fun now..lol..

    1. Well I have a few REALLY long runs under my belt bc I was originally going to do the marathon next wknd… As long as I can’t train consistently for the next month, I SHOULD be good… Do I expect a PR yes bc the last time I ran was a disaster … But I want my body to really get ready for that fall marathon… This is just for fun and to get my body to remember…

  2. that’s so awesome! i can’t wait to see what you do in the next few weeks! it makes my marathon itch seem unbearable. first i was going to wait until next spring (i’m coming back after back surgery) but now i’m tempted by all the glorious fall marathons that are getting close to being full….

    1. Thank you sooo much! I know it was kind of an insane decision but I’m hoping it just works out… I have a good base under my belt… I just gotta do it… OMG, back surgery? You are amazing! I get what you mean about the itch though… I had it and I scratched it.. BUFFALO here I come!!!

  3. I can’t wait to hear how it goes! That marathon is pretty close to me and I’ve heard that it’s a fast course, so it’s always been on my watch list. I know you’ll get a PR and have a great race!

    1. Thank you sooo much for the support! I know it’s kind of a risky move but I NEED to get a half way decent marathon under my belt before attempting to BQ in the fall. I’ve heard it’s fast as well and honestly that is why I signed up for it so if nothing else I at least walk away with a PR (and a fancy finisher medal). PS I didn’t realize that you were that close to Buffalo (i’m like 4 hours away)

Leave a Reply

