I had a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad long run:(

Ok, that is not entirely true, but sort of. lol.  It began Saturday when I chose not to do that two mile race and go get my new mothers day sneakers at Fleet Feet in Albany (love that place).  I was obvi overly excited to wear them, and with a long run coming up on Sunday, I figured hey why not break them in (rookie mistake).  Why would I do this you ask? I’m not sure and I have now learned from my mistake…

Image

When I woke up Sunday, it was pretty windy out but I told myself no biggie, I was going to eat, relax then go running…I took some of your long run suggestions and I decided to listen to music for part of the way and then have Michael meet me at mile 13.The first 13 miles felt great, effortless.  The second issue occurred when I arrived at the point where Michael was SUPPOSE to meet me and he wasn’t there.  Honest mistake I thought, I’ll just run around little bit until he arrives.  A mile and a half later, STILL no Michael. I break out the old iphone and call him… he says I told him to meet me at 1:30, I ACTUALLY said was to meet me in an hour and a half (see how that got turned around).  I had a complete mental meltdown. I was banking on the company and my right foot was starting to bother me, so I knew I was going to need a little help through the last few miles….He said he’d go get ready and find me ASAP.  At the point I was done… I tried to pull myself together and forced myself to keep going… 

By mile 16 my splits had dropped from 7:20 to 8:20 and I was DYING…I could feel the blisters forming and I could barely propel myself forward.  Michael called me at 17.5 miles and I told him I decided to only do 18 and for him to find me on the bike path.  I ran 18 miles in 2:21:10.  I was SOOO disappointed that I didn’t make 20 miles, I literally cried.  It was truly just a series of bad happenings. Chicrunner’s schedule only had us maxing out at 18, but I was hoping to be an overachiever and hit 20.  I know we all go through it, bad races, bad runs, bad workouts, and they way on our psyche so much.  Even though I didn’t make the 20 I think I’m still going to do the Buffalo Marathon.  I have no REAL expectations and my main goal to get a nice 26.2 miles under my belt before trying to BQ.

Image

After my terrible finish and my pathetic cry, I pulled myself together and went to my cousins BBQ and spent the rest of the day with the two people who always know how to make me smile and don’t care how “bad” my runs or races are.  My two cheerleaders, who never allow me to quit, and the reason I keep going.

Image

So, today, I’m going to take the day off, reboot and start fresh tomorrow.  Happy Monday!

How do you reboot after a “bad run”?

 

17 thoughts on “I had a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad long run:(

  1. I know it feels awful because your foot hurt and it didn’t go as planned but honestly, it’s still a great pace for an easy long run and it’s still 18 miles so given proper footwear and race day adrenaline, I think you’ll do much better than you feel you like you will right now. I try to remember on terrible runs that they happen for no good reason sometimes and they are cancelled out by those runs where everything feels effortless and awesome and now the universe owes you one of those 😉

  2. Bad runs are the worst, especially when they are bad enough to wreck your confidence. For me, the only way that I can reboot is just to do over. It’s one of those things that you just have to get through it, but I also appreciate the victory of the redo–it’s like BOOM SCHOOLED YOU.
    And ice cream and a good beer. Those also help 😀

  3. After my bad long runs, I remind myself that most people can’t even do a SHORT run, so I’m still ahead of the game, and what’s important is that I’m trying.

    And if it’s any consolation, I think your “bad” run was absolutely amazing, and you still ran 18 miles faster than my PR for a half marathon!!

    There. Don’t you feel like a rockstar? 🙂

    1. Thank you! I know it wasn’t technically a bad run, but I didn’t hit my 20 mile goal and it HURT! But you ARE right, there are A LOT of people who can’t even do a short run.I have to keep reminding myself that what we do IS extraordinary!

  4. Not reaching your goals when you are training can really ruin your psyche. Keep your chin up, though! You were ONLY to miles off and you wore brand new shoes… which I am sure attributed a lot to your foot issues. It’s hard to get mentally past what you feel like is a failure, but power through. Your time truly was awesome and you will get that BQ!

    1. I know, and honestly I WOULD have made it if I had someone to pull me along… this was just a huge disappointment bc I have felt SO good lately. Honestly, even at mile 13 I was like holy moly I’m on amazing pace, I feel amazing! And then it all hit me like a ton of bricks… it was all just BAD…. I gotta shake it off and move forward…. but the support I get from everyone really is helping me realize that it REALLY wasn’t all that bad.

  5. here’s the thing. i believe that “bad” training runs are actually better than good ones. it lets you deal with the emotional side of running. for me, the race that i ran my bq, the biggest struggle was that all of my long runs had been perfect…i never had to deal with disappointment, fear, doubt, etc in training. so, when i started to panic after mile 20 i didn’t have the tools i needed to pull myself together. it was terrifying to feel myself fall apart.

    now, i see terrible runs for what they are…an opportunity to explore what failure feels like, but to face it and push through. learning to not let those doubts and fears control me.

    your next run will be better because this run made you better.

    1. I.LOVE.THIS! You are soooo right! I’ve just been floating along on all these runs never knowing what it feels like to “fall apart”… this past run gave me the opportunity to deal with things that MAY happen during an actual race… I was beating myself up over this but your insight literally just made me smile and be like this WAS necessary….. Thank you!

  6. I want to hug you. This sounds a lot like how I came unglued during my 15. Everything was great…until suddenly it wasn’t and I got into a very bad place in my own head and it was just horrid. But as I said on your other post, this run does not define you. You are prepared to run a marathon. You are going to do it and it’s going to be great and I’m looking forward to hearing all about it. I’m so glad that you are focusing on the positive now because you have so much to look forward to!

    1. Exactly!!!! It was good until it was just bad…. The thing is when you just come out of that bad run, it’s sooo hard to see the light at the end of the tunnel ya know… that is why I had to just… stop…. breathe… reboot:) We got this!!!

Leave a Reply

