Alis Volat Propiis

Image

I love this latin phrase…. I have it tattooed on my left foot.  Yesterday I wrote a post about how, I did really well at a race that I didn’t stress about and the more I thought about it I began to wonder why I couldn’t go into every race like that…why I can’t just “enjoy” the run? The truth is, I’m just not wired that way.  I’ve been in a relationship with running for a really long time and that fact of the matter is this is just who I am. I LOVE the anticipation of race day. I love waking up a 4am and just thinking about all the potential and hope. I love planning my outfits weeks in advance.  I love it all! I take the good with the bad… It’s been with me through the good times and the bad times in my life, deaths, births, national tragedies, bad hair cuts (and good ones), and it’s never turned it’s back on me…

Image

When I got this tattooed on my foot I was going through a weird point in my life… I didn’t know what was going to happen next.  I started researching the internet for tattoo ideas.  I already have a latin phrase on my right foot, so I thought I should keep with theme plus I think latin is a beautiful language, so when I found this I knew I was stamping my body somewhere with it…. it means “she flies with her own wings”.  It could have an array of meanings but I love that in my life it has a double meaning… meaning I’m a strong independent woman AND I will go out there everyday and run MY run…. This weekend I’m doing the BUFFALO MARATHON… I’m not sure why I signed up for it but something in me told me to do it… I literally have no expectations.  Maybe my lack of expectations will make this race amazing.  Maybe I will be able to go out there and ENJOY the run (yeah probably not).   Either way I’m going to run MY race and fly with my own wings..

 

 

18 thoughts on “Alis Volat Propiis

  1. i LOVE LOVE LOVE it!

    now you make me want to see the tattoo on your foot!

    i don’t have any tattoos, but i know that i would get something that related to running. i love that your’s is about running, but not restricted to running. fav.

  2. Love this for a tattoo idea! I want my next one on my foot but my tattoo artist scared the living crap out of me when I tried to get my last one (now on my wrist) there by telling me he’s too scared to get one there because it hurts so bad. Coming from a guy with roughly 100 tats and some big ugly piercings, I moved it to my wrist pretty quickly. Please tell me words on my foot will not be that awful…

  3. I loooove this post-it’s so beautiful!! You are going to have a blast with it, whether you do or don’t hit a time you want. I hope you enjoy it and hey even if you don’t-at least it’s a learning experience!

    1. That’s what I told Michael… I don’t know what the hell is going to happen out there on Sunday, BUT whatever does happen will be a learning experience for the fall…. OR I’ll die… lol

  4. At the end of the day, we can only be us, and run the race with the legs we have. Sometimes they don’t want to cooperate, but they are still ours, only ours.

  5. I have it tattooed on my right foot! I just got it this past summer. For me, it was as much about running as surviving my divorce and the aftermath. The fact that my new husband is a Latin teacher (and the tattoo is in his handwriting) made it extra meaningful.

  6. Good luck in Buffalo! I live right of the route as it cuts through Elmwood Village on Bidwell Ave. I’ll be volunteering, doing traffic control to stop drivers from pestering the hard working runners.

    No real tattoos for me, but I did wear two temporary ones on my arms during my first marathon in Pittsburgh a few weeks ago. One that looks just like my gravatar here, and the other is a howling wolf. There’s pics of them in my race recap here.

Leave a Reply

