What the hell are you so afraid of?!

I didn’t run yesterday because frankly I could barely muster up enough energy to make dinner for the kiddos.  I woke up this morning feeling worse than any other day this week.  Literally, I  got out of the shower and laid in front of the closet on my floor, willing the clothes to just magically appear on my body.. yeah that never happened.  So I pulled myself up and managed to get me and the munchkins out of the house earlier than normal, which meant DUNKIN was a def and it was a good thing because I needed it.

Once I got to work (I got here WAY early this morning), I sat down and started reading some blogs, when all of a sudden it hit me!  All of the fears that I had for this weekend were overcome with excitement and joy.  What the hell was I so afraid of all week?! Why was I so stressed about this weekend?! I’m def not winning it, so really there is no pressure…. I created all this crazy stress on my own. I need to just have fun (and not die)!  I mean listen, it’s 26.2 miles so it’s not going to be a walk in the park for me, but I’m also not going to put pressure on myself… At the end of the day finishing a marathon is an accomplishment in itself.  I would LOVE to break 4 hours… IF I can do that, I will be ecstatic.  Anything better than that would be a bonus, anything worse, I can’t be mad at either.  I’m just going to go out there, have fun, and run the best race that I CAN….

YOUCAN

Happy Memorial Day weekend! See you on the other side… of the finish line!

 

21 thoughts on “What the hell are you so afraid of?!

  1. You have nothing to be afraid of!! Trust your training! And yes have fun and please don’t die. I love your blog too much!! Have a wonderful weekend! Can’t wait to hear all about it!

    1. awww thank you…. you are soo right… I just have to run this smart and trust in my training…. I literally can’t stop smiling this morning…. for a month I worried if I would be ready and today I finally found solace… I know I’m ready:) Have a great weekend doll!

  2. Have fun!! I think if you just race and try to have the best experience you can, the most fun you can, you’ll be pleasantly surprised by your time. You know you’re crazy when you tell yourself not to stress and to remember that running a marathon is, if nothing else, a really cool and fun way to spend the day 😉

  3. Nicely written and great outlook chica!!! No matter what the outcome crossing that finish line is the main goal and WHEN you do that you’ll be one of the most fabulous people on the planet annnnnd I’m thinking you might just have a sub-4 in those little legs lol 🙂

      1. You got this! Just run your own race and live in the moment, take it all in, and ride the wave of the crowd support 🙂

  4. Once you are there, everything will change. The anticipation is the worst part. Just enjoy what you have been given, and until then, enjoy the fueling up, the rest, and then love every mile your legs give you. You’ll do great!

    1. ok, that just made me tear up…lol. I mean there is nothing more I can do at this point, so there is no point in stressing…. the weather is suppose to be nice, so all I have to do is run…

  5. You are among the fortunate just to be able to run this distance- and to run it well, which you will- and so just let yourself enjoy th experience rather than worrying about it! Have a great run!

  6. i know that you will love every second of it. running a marathon is so many things! i am always overwhelmed with what a privilege it is. i GET to do this!

    during really hard race efforts i always have something, a phrase of some kind tucked into my thoughts. whatever it is that you draw strength from, carry it with you. either physically or mentally. there will come a time when you need something outside of yourself to lean on.

    my last piece of advice: be prepared to feel like there is unfinished business. i feel that way after every single 26.2 mile journey. you will finish, you will complete it…but you will be filled with questions and hungry to do another one to answer them. this is normal. trust me 🙂

  7. Your race is going to be to be great! Enjoy the race and take advantage of learning something about the distance each mile. Can’t wait to see your race outfit and hear all about it.

Leave a Reply

