What Up Wedneday

Image

 

Well, it’s Wednesday… so you know what that means…time to talk about what up but first I want to thank you for all of your support from this weekend! I truly felt the love.. thank you! Ok, ok, lets talk about what’s up!

1. Ok, it’s ONLY been two days since my marathon and it seems like it was sooo long ago.  It still doesn’t seem real to me, that not only did I finish BUT I finished well (14th woman overall, 3rd in my age group, and a BQ).  I miss running already, I know you are suppose to give your body time to recover, but how much time? How long do you take off after a marathon?

 

Image
this is me around mile 11… smiling and feeling good:)

 

2. I was initially going to do the Friehoffers 5k this weekend but I fear that at this point I should just take the weekend off.  I don’t want to miss out on the free box of cookies BUT I’m worried IF I ran it wouldn’t be enough time off and I’d rather run the following weekend:)

3.With June right around the corner I felt it was necessary to discuss goals for next month.

  • I’d like to run at least one 5k
  • I’d like to start incorporating weights and foam rolling into my training
  • I’d like to run the local Mule Haul 5 miler on Father’s Day
  • My friend Ashley wants to do the Adirondack !0 Miler On June 22, and of course I said I would join in

I have no time goals for June only because I want a stress free month of running.  I want to just go out there and have fun… July will start marathon training and time goals:)

4.I seen this the other day and loved it!

Image
I have small wings on the insides of my ankles… i’m debating adding them to the outside.. maybe after I complete Boston;)

Whats up on your Wednesday?! I’m getting bored not running, how do you recover from marathons?

 

13 thoughts on “What Up Wedneday

  1. I take a full week off after the marathon, if not the whole week totally off then maybe just 2 shorter runs. I try to get moving, usually swimming or light spinning, but stay off impact activities for the week 🙂

  2. Congrats on your stellar marathon!!!
    I ran a marathon on Saturday, and I took Sunday, Mon, & Tues completely off. My legs feel totally normal, so I might try to cross train today as a test run. I won’t actually run until probably this weekend–I’ve come back too quickly before and gotten injured! Instead of running this week, I’ve spent my time shopping and reading, and it’s been wonderful! 🙂

    1. First of all, congrats on your marathon! Well done. I always find it amazing that we are able to push ourselves when we want to just crawl up and die… not everyone gets that… but I LOVE that about our sport..Besides the fact that it’s sooooo addicting!.

      I’m trying to avoid injury too… I’ve been icing and wearing compression socks and today I just feel like I could use a nice work out.. but maybe I’ll hit up a spin class tonight just to get SOMETHING in!

  3. Congrats on such an amazing race. I was there as a volunteer, blocking cars from crossing Linwood Ave right around the 14 mile mark, shortly after your red-bib envy wore off 🙂 I was looking for you but didn’t realize how blazing fast you were and missed.

    I’ve only done 1 marathon, but for recovery I followed Hal Higdon’s recovery plan for three weeks. Since it was my first, I was very cautious to ease back into things and avoid injury. So far so good, tomorrow night represents the end of “recovery” with my first 5K race in a year, so it’ll be fun to see how I can do with my new level of fitness which is substantially higher than ever in my life.

    1. Thank you for volunteering! I don’t know what I would have done with out you guys! Even though I wear headphones, I alternate btwn music and listening to the crowd and when there wasn’t a crowd there were volunteers:) How perfect was the weather?! I couldn’t have planned a better day!

      I’m going to have to look Hal’s plans up… I’m feigning for a run….but I know I need rest:( Good luck with your 5k! I can’t wait to read all about it!

  4. I took about 4 days off post marathon, then ran a short and very slow and easy breezy three miler for my first run post marathon. I was one of those rare runners who recovered quickly but I think the key to that was I kept moving sore the soreness never set in severely. Those are some wise and fun June goals chica! 🙂 nice race photo by the way! Glad to see you were smiling and embracing the moment 🙂

    1. Thanks! Most of the other pics are NOT good, lol. I think I’m going to give it a go.. NOT far… but my legs feel great and I feel like I need to just go for a light jog ya know?! I want to be conservative with my goals for June bc I know the next few months will be a bit more nuts!

  5. I’ve never run a full marathon so I can’t say how long to rest afterwards however, after the races I have done (5,10,1/2) I usually take 3-7 days off and then take it easy getting back into it.
    I love that you have set goals for June…I started to do that his year and missed last month – might have to starting thinking of those June goals now 🙂

  6. i usually take a full two weeks of with NOTHING. it’s something i heard ryan hall talk about when he was interviewed at a expo that i was at. now…i’m no ryan hall, nor will i ever be one…but if he can survive without running for two weeks, i figure i can to. i figure there’s not fitness to be gained while my body is in full-on recovery mode.

    1. Well if Ryan Hall says its ok, it MUST be lol…. I DID want to go to spin lastnight but I noticed my right foot was a bit swollen;/ Sooooo I stayed home and had a cocktail (or two) and elevated and iced it instead:)

Leave a Reply

