What Up Wednesday!

20140702-040554-14754744.jpg

Happy Fourth of July Week and here’s what up this Wednesday…

1. First of all, I want to thank you all for your kind words and suggestions. I DID “slow down” which I guess helped me speed up. By slowing down I became more relaxed and my run today felt fantastic!!! Minus the 90 degree heat (not complaining, just sayin).

20140702-040942-14982973.jpg

2. ITS FOURTH OF JULY WEEKEND

20140702-052837-19717965.jpg

I love the fourth for many reasons… First and foremost what it stands for. Second, Brady and I LOVE fireworks. Each year he gets a bit more into it, so I can’t wait to see his face this year! This will be Ella first year IF we can manage to keep her awake:/ Third, it means only 15 more days until my birthday (woot, woot). I will be 30 freaking two! Finally, this year my family is having our first EVER family reunion… I remember when I was younger we always had a family “gathering” in the summer but this is on a much larger scale and that makes me happy! When my grandmother was alive my family always got together and since she has passed it’s like we never see each other… I feel like we have spent a lot of time doing Michael’s traditions and I’m kind of siked we are FINALLY doing things with my family… Way for my family to step up the game;)

3.

20140702-053804-20284363.jpg

My first goal is to build a nice strong base.

My second goal is to incorporate so light weight training into my schedule. I have to be careful with this one because I tend to get too muscular and I’m just going for strength.

Third, I’d like to run at least ONE 5k this month. Preferably on my birthday but at this point any would do.

And last but not least, I’d like to incorporate some track and hill work outs into my schedule… I have some pretty tough goals for my fall marathon ( which I will discuss soon) and in order to obtain them I need to do things I haven’t done in a long time:)

20140702-054514-20714214.jpg

What kind of track work outs do you do?
What are your goals for July?
What are your plans for the fourth?!
What up on your Wednesday!?πŸ’‹

12 thoughts on “What Up Wednesday!

  1. I’m a big tempo run person, but of late no track workouts for this gal. I’m still trying to rebuild my distance base. I know it’s a cop out, but I don’t care. I just want to be as injury free as possible! Alex and I essentially had our 4th of July last night–we grilled out. He will be working all this weekend, even though I will be off!
    My what up Wednesday is HOORAY FOR SUNSHINE

  2. Hooray for birthdays! I love fireworks too, so the 4th is one if my favorite holidays! My goal for July is not to slack off now that my half is done. I want to keep my base up and get back to the gym to strengthen my hips, which have been a little achy since Sunday.

  3. So glad you had a more solid run on your last outing chica! πŸ™‚ As far as track workouts I tend to do a lot of 800’s and 400’s I also do 4 x 1600’s and my new favorite is the mile breakdown. Since I’m back to focusing on the 5K race distance again I’ll also start putting 4×4’s back into my training. That’s were I do 4 minutes at 5K race pace followed by 4 minute recoveries. My July goals are to continue running easy until the final couple weeks of the month then I get into the first of many 5K training blocks I’ll have over the next 6-8 months. I have a few big goals in store for the fall race season which I’m keeping secret for the moment. Blogging material for later hahaha!

  4. Yay birthday month! I love the idea of a birthday 5k. New PRs make such nice presents. πŸ™‚ That’s so cool that your family is getting together too! I wish mine would have a reunion. It’s been forever since I’ve seen any of my more distant family members.
    I don’t have access to a track so I use a treadmill to do my speed work which I equal parts love and hate (because really…treadmill…but yay speed work!) I hope you have a marvelous 4th! I love fireworks too and hope to introduce Betty to them this year. πŸ™‚

    1. You know a pr would be a nice present bc I really can’t think of anything that I want (at this point)…in the meantime I will try it get a few work outs in b4 in hopes of a PR…there is always cocktails too lol

  5. i have no plans, except we have a live-in babysitter for the weekend so that means we will be going on dates and to movies and to wherever else we want to go. just because we can πŸ™‚

    1. Oooh I love “live-ins”! Enjoy your dates! It’s soooo important to take time for just you two. Mike and I use to go out every Thursday… It have us something to look forward to besides Friday;) lol

  6. Happy 4th! You have some great goals for July – the variety will keep you on your feet! I like to mix it up on the track. Sometimes I will do short and fast, and sometimes, like last week, I did a long steady run. I like running on the track because it is a consistent environment and I can keep my water/food/etc. right there. Goals for July are to get outside everyday and do something active. I love the heat and sunshine!

    1. I love the heat and sunshine too! We have been have nutty weather out here, it’s driving me insane! I’ll finally get a chance to go running and there will be a crazy thunder storm! Grrrr

Leave a Reply

