For the love of running…

I had my first run of my 32s yesterday and let me tell you it felt great! I love running and I’m not going to lie I worry about getting slower (because it’s inevitable). I worry that I won’t love it as much when the success isn’t there because I AM a competitor by nature and the fact of the matter is that I.LOVE.TO.WIN….

The marathon that I signed up for in the fall was originally suppose to be THE ONE… Ya know, the one where I qualify for Boston. I had no idea that I had it in me in May, especially after the epic fail of my first one! I digress… I’ve decided that I really want to “race” this fall marathon! I’m not saying elite status by any means but I want to go out there and leave it out there… Everything that I have, my heart and soul… And when I walk away from the finish line, I want to say “I gave that everything that I’ve got.”

20140722-090518-32718848.jpg

Yesterday was the first day of my training cycle… Yes, I’ve been running but it hasn’t been consistent and most days I was running because… I love running. Yesterday’s run fell easy and smooth. I felt strong and like I was flying! I, unfortunately, can not clock tons of miles everyday as I will end up injured but I will get there and it won’t take me long… Yesterday’s run was one of those runs that gets you excited about the next big race….

20140722-091330-33210556.jpg

Today, I will be doing my first track work out, providing the thunder storms hold out! Dare I say I’m excited?! Oh but I am… Tomorrow may be a different story;)
Happy Tuesday!

12 thoughts on “For the love of running…

  1. Nice pace! Consistency seems to work for me. Even if I don’t pile on tons of miles, running 5-6 miles 5 times a week gets me there. To BQ I/you need more. But to avoid injury being consistant is a good practice to follow.
    Andy

    1. I can’t out on tons of miles either.. I’m prone to shin splints do I have to be super careful. I actually only trained for a month when I BQ’d in the spring but the nice thing was I didn’t have to worry about killing my legs with too many miles! I just need to get my runs in and listen to my body..

Leave a Reply

