Why would you do that?!

Well, today I did my first track work out… Nothing too nuts but I did it!

20140725-141628-51388662.jpg
True to the rest of my week, today was another off day. I slept until 9am, that NEVER happens! Of course the day I want to get up and do a work out I can’t drag my lazy but out of bed….

ANYways, I got up to the school and the football team was practicing… I set my goal to only do 4×400 only because I felt weird even being there….I did a mile warm up, 4×400 with a 200meter walk in between…. I’m not going to lie, it was NOT easy! My times were 1:27, 1:26, 1:25, 1:26… Not terrible for my first track workout back and you know what, I’m feeling pretty proud of myself right now… This is just the first of MANY!

20140725-142747-52067799.jpg
Even though FB practice had ended, there were a few boys flipping tires on the track… They said, “Mrs O’Neil, where you doing 400s?” I said, “I was trying to…” Their response was “why?!” I explained that I was training for a marathon in the fall…. They looked at me and said “why would you do that to yourself!”… I could have went on a long rant of trying to be a good role model and staying healthy, blah blah blah… But I kept it simple with “I love running.” I smiled and said goodbye… Non runners don’t get “why we do this to ourselves”. They don’t understand the feeling you get after a kick a$$ workout or a long run or crossing the finish line or a PR. There’s nothing like it…

20140725-144019-52819503.jpg

Happy Friday!!!!

One thought on “Why would you do that?!

  1. Woohoo!!! So proud of you! And yep, it’s definitely a runner thing other floks just don’t understand lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

