This runner don’t sleep…

Hello, my name is Tantra and I’m an insomniac…

20140729-102910-37750208.jpg

It’s at it’s worse in the summer…I think it’s because I have more time to think and dwell and worry… In the last two nights I have gotten a total of about 3.5 hours of sleep. All I do is toss and turn until I either break out the iPad or turn on the TV. I don’t need a crazy amount of sleep to function but I DO need sleep…because with out it I’m cranky, irritable, and obviously tired:/ I’m feeling like bad mommy right now…

20140729-104527-38727502.jpg

Running is such a big part of my life and I’m seriously concerned that this is effecting my training. I have read many articles including this one on sleep and excercise.

Any other insomnics out there? Anyone else deal with a similar problem? If so how did you fix it?

20140729-104655-38815106.jpg

19 thoughts on “This runner don’t sleep…

  1. I hope you find out what’s going on. I’m sure you’ve tried just about everything, but I had a phone app called Sleep Genius that helped me BIG TIME when I couldn’t sleep. It plays a soothing music on a timer and is supposed to help you fall asleep. I only find that it works if I force my brain to stop thinking of everything else and listen only to each note of the music. It stopped my racing mind and put me to sleep in no time. Even my skeptical husband enjoyed it. Sending positive thoughts your way!

  2. I liked this post because I agree. I have the worst time falling asleep and when I do, I have a tough time staying asleep. I just started using a sleep tracker and I’m embarrassed by how not sleep efficient I am. Melatonin helps a bit when I take it though and Epsom salt baths before bed. I hope we both find answers fast!

    1. OMG I’m sooo happy I’m not alone!! I’m going to try the melatonin… All I know is I need a few more hours than I’m getting… Michael will roll over and be like you’re still awake!? I just look over at him and reply with a simple yep… I wanna say no I just look awake! Ugh!

  3. awww girl, that’s the wooooorst. i’m one of those who needs a lot of sleep (8 hrs is good for me!) so i definitely feel it in my life and my running if i get less than 7. hoping you figure this out! stress related?

  4. I’ve been there–I used to stay up all hours of the night. Now I tend to have the opposite problem, where I fall asleep immediately and then wake up around 2-3 in the morning, and then on/off after that until I give up. Good luck–I wish I had some advice to offer, but I don’t. Something that helped me for a time was a thing called “Brain Wave Suite” which was a CD that was supposed to match up with your brain waves and then take you into sleep. I think it really was more a type of mediation than anything, but it helped until I memorized the track and knew when I was nearing the end of it.

    1. Lol that’s funny…. About the CD not waking up.. During the school year the same thing happens but it’s ok bc by then I’ve gotten my necessary 4 hours… Lol, pathetic… That’s why I run on dunkin:(

  5. Oh man, not getting enough sleep is rough. I’ve gone through periods of my life when this was the case and stress had a lot to do with it. For me, I had to work through what was causing me all the stress and work on clearing my head before sleep. I’m sure with all of the running your body is craving the sleep too! I hope the doctor is able to provide some help!

  6. My sleep has been so weird this past week. I run in the morning so usually I am tired enough to get to bed at 9, but lately I am not tired at night. Getting up in the morning is tough, it is so strange! I’m hoping I can get back on a normal schedule here soon. Hope you get some rest.

Leave a Reply

