Trying something old again and 100 reasons to keep going…

Something I pride myself in is mine and my children’s appearance. I don’t care what the outside world has to say but presentation REALLY IS everything!
Brady starts school in less than a month and it’s important to me that when he does, he comes with swag ( looks nice, has nice stuff, great personality). Nothing is more boring than being ordinary… I try to keep him from falling into the follower/ cookie cutter mentality…

20140805-022530-8730309.jpg

20140805-022531-8731094.jpg
I know, I know, he’s only 3.5 but it’s important to instill strong, independent values when they are little… Honestly, I’m not too worried, he’s a pretty amazing kid;).

ANYWHO, because I do have a little extra time and I DO love giving my children as much as I can, I decided to attempt something I haven’t done in almost 10 years… Waitressing/bartending!

20140805-023205-9125185.jpg
I am by no means badass but I will tell you, I totally busted my ass and it kind of felt good. I don’t like relying on other people and it’s important that I can stand on my own two feet (all part of being a good role model to my children)…. This is not a forever role, it’s an attempt to get ahead financially, network, and of course pay my badass Boston entry fee;).

20140805-023752-9472978.jpg

Today, before my shift and while the kids are napping (very small window), I’m going to attempt a light hill work out ( is that even possible?! Lol)… I’m kind of looking forward to it because I can’t wait to see how it helps my long run this weekend!

20140805-024210-9730215.jpg

And yesterday’s marks this mini milestone:

20140805-024326-9806503.jpg
I can’t believe not only did I start a blog but I’ve hit 100 posts!!! I’m looking forward to MANY MANY more!!!

What made you start your blogs? How’d you come up with your name?
What kind of hill work outs do YOU do?

8 thoughts on “Trying something old again and 100 reasons to keep going…

  1. We don’t have hills here. Thus no hill workouts (really) for moi. And Congrats on 100 posts! Good luck with your little venture behind the bar (not on top of it 😉 ) Bartending is a great way to get out and make some good money, and also a great outlet for creativity as well as appealing to the scientific side of us all!

  2. Good for you for going out there and busting it bartending. My mom always says that wherever you go, you should look your best. Appearance really is a lot and helps contribute to inner confidence and opportunity (regardless of how “wrong” this is, it is true).

  3. Congrats on #100 woohoo! I started my blog to track my progress running wise and for those curious enough to read, provide a true uncensored life of a runner in Florida. The blog title was easy annnnnd I’m in Florida remember we don’t have hills hahahaha well … maybe a couple lol 😉

  4. Extra cash is always great…especially with high race fees. A girl’s got to support her addiction some way! I used to be a server on top of teaching and coaching, but it ultimately became too much to juggle and I quit last August. I do miss the extra $!

    I started my blog to document my journey of running 50 marathons in 50 states. That is still my main focus, but I blog more than I thought I would although not near as often as those of you who do everyday. I just can’t imagine finding the time to do that. I don’t know how you do it with the kiddos and everything else, but congrats on #100!

Leave a Reply

