What Up Wednesday!

photo (1)

It’s Wednesday and I can’t believe how fast this week is going… it’s probably because I have been and will continue to be busy all week/weekend!

Here’s what up on my Wednesday..

3651947622_9aa94fc731_o

This Sunday will be my first half since May… I’m really excited about it… I’m not in peak shape but this is my friends first half marathon ever and it’s for a good cause.  I have danced back and forth of whether or not I was going to run and after Monday’s run I said why not?! It’s already paid for and I’m not one to pay for a race and not run… I have three simple goals for this race:

1. I’d like to run 1:40 or better

2. Finish with a smile on my face

3. If I finish ahead of my bestie to go back and finish with her (hopefully we can get pics)

ragnarrelay6_r250x250_c250x250_fsharpen

When it comes to running I can often be spontaneous…. yesterday one of my friends on FB asked if anyone would be interested in doing the Ragnar Relay Adirondacks… it goes from Saratoga Springs to Lake Placid, NY…. of course crazy Tantra said oh yes pick me! lol… it’s one of those things that I have wanted to do for a long time… a bucket lister…  So on Sept 26/27 I will be riding and running with 11 strangers for 200 miles…. this may be one of my more insane things that I have done….

believe

The next month is all about believing in myself, believing in my training and sticking to the plan…. I’m typically a “realist” which is often mistaken for a pessimist…. because I’m use to being let down… however, this is all in my control for the most part…I have a tattoo on my right wrist that says “believe”….  for the first time in a long time I actually do…

Has anyone done a Ragnar? Can anyone give me any helpful hints?

What Up on your Wednesday?

13 thoughts on “What Up Wednesday!

  1. Oh no worries chica!! You’ll so nail that 1:40 half mary after all you are a speed diva haha lol 🙂 I’m glad to see you BELIEVE!!! I’m actually starting to believe in my running abilities for the first time in a couple years. It’s a quiet confidence starting to build again in me. Annnnnnd what up Wednesday for me … trying to avoid a full blown cold. I always seem to get a minor touch of the sniffles 2-3 weeks before a race.

  2. I’ve always wanted to do a Ragnar!

    I’m debating running a race on Saturday too-a half: I am in peak shape for it but the lazy-I-want-to-sleep-in-on-Saturday girl really can’t make up her mind:) (it’s at 7am and I live over an hour away)
    Gooooood luck and running with your bestie is the bestest! Good luck to her too!!

  3. Hi! Just started reading your blog 🙂

    I ran Ragnar Chicago in June and its an awesome experience. Here is what I learned…
    -EAT! Not just snack food, but real food. You are running at strange hours so be sure to eat when you can.

    -Bring a pillow and blanket. You won’t get much sleep, if any, but you might as well be comfortable and warm. Speaking of being comfortable, we had a 15 passenger van (which is huge) but that gave us lots of space to sprawl out. I couldn’t image putting 6 people in a mini-van like some teams did.

    -Don’t take anything too seriously and take lots of pics!

    Good luck! You are going to love it!

      1. Our team name was the Real Ragnar because we thought the exact same thing!

        We are looking into doing a Ragnar Trail now so we get the Ragnar experience without all the driving.

  4. I just did a short, 1 day relay, but I asked my Ragnar-experienced friend for some tips so here’s what I suggest based off her advice/my one day relay- Bring a towel to sit on in the van, bring toilet paper and hand sanitizer, bring changes of running clothes (sweaty/wet clothes aren’t comfortable & wet shorts aren’t great for the lady parts!), recovery flip flops are great, compression socks for recovery too!, and bring sweats for when it gets chilly! I am sure you will have a blast!

  5. I think the goals you have made for this race are very realistic and doable! That is so cool that your bestie is running her first marathon and that you will be there to run and support her as well!

    I’m glad you decided to join a relay team. It’s such a different experience and SO MUCH FUN!

Leave a Reply

