Another half in the books….

It’s been a crazy weekend full of questions about my future races….  Because my training has been so spotty I was debating on whether or not I was going to run on Sunday…. But because it was my besties first half marathon I decided to suck it up and do it anyways.

Soooo it goes… Sunday I was SUPPOSE to get up at 4:05AM and for some reason (because I didn’t set it for AM I set it for PM), my alarm never went off. I was suppose to drop the kids off at my dads at 530 and pick the Ashley up at 545, yeah no. I woke up at 525!!!! Michael dropped the kids off and picked up Ashley and I scrambled to get ready, minus breakfast (that was a bad choice).  SOMEHOW, we made it on the the road by 6AM and we made it to Saratoga by 650AM. We had enough time to use the bathroom and warm up.

photo 4
we made it and we are READY…. well ashley was

The race went of at exactly 725AM… the first mile was a long incline and the second mile was rolling hills… Those of you who have kept up with my blog know that I try to avoid hills at all costs, so had I did my research I would have known that this is a challenging course (for me anyways)…

photo 1

My first 8 miles were beautiful 650’s pace, and then I died and went down to 720s and 730s.  I don’t know if was my lack of breakfast or lack of training but it was a little disappointing.  Any who, I finished in 1:35:11 (official time).   The first female finished in 1:14, she is bad ass!

photo 2 (3)photo 3

And my bestie finished her FIRST half marathon in 2:11… overall.. it was a good morning!

In other news, I am debating not doing the Ragnar. I really want to do it, but financially I don’t know if we can swing it this week.  Typically  you have time to financially plan for races but because it was a last minute thing I have not had time to save. Not to mention I am taking a class this fall and basically have no extra money. So my once in a lifetime opportunity, may  have to pass me by right now.

Also, I need to get one more long run in before my marathon in three weeks.  I’m going to attempt an 18-20 mile run this weekend.  If I can’t do it I may defer my entry until next year.  I don’t want to but I also don’t want to injure myself.

Have you ever had to defer a race or not run because you weren’t marathon ready/race ready?

Have you ever had to back out of something you really wanted to do due to finances?

Anyone else race this weekend?

17 thoughts on “Another half in the books….

  1. Tantra … you are so freaking amazing as a runner. What drops my jaws is that most of your racing these crazy long distances comes with really short training cycles. I’m not gonna lie I really think you could be a local elite in your area if you had more time on your side to train. And your questions that you asked must be the question of the day lol. In 5 years of distance running I have had to defer/withdraw from races twice. Once due to injury and a second for lack of funds to cover travel expenses and circumstances. And then of course you know about 2 out of my first 4 races for this season being cancelled.

      1. Some races seed you based on race times and some running stores will put you on their team based on race times. If your times are fast enough it places you in the elite category. That how some of the bigger races here in Florida are set up

  2. You are seriously a ridiculously fast runner, Tantra. What a great race, especially given the course. I continue to be impressed by you. When it comes to backing out of a race, I have never done this myself, but think every person and circumstance is different. You have to make the best decision for you. Only you can know the physical state of your body and how your mental race will be affected.

  3. Yay for getting in your half! I haven’t had to defer a race/run but my first race/run I tore the ligaments in my left ankle pretty bad and ended up in physio for 2 months because of it. I still ran the race/run but when I got injured while playing soccer I was pretty upset that I might be side-lined.

Leave a Reply

