What Up Wednesday and Guess What I Did?

image

One of my dilemmas from last week was that I wanted to do the Ragnar Relay but didn’t have the money…. well another team offered me a free spot and I TOOK IT! It was weighing heavy on my mind just because it was such an amazing opportunity to pass up. I don’t know if I will get the chance to do it again but what I do know is it is something I will NEVER forget.

me

My team left from the city so I made sure to get to the starting line in Saratoga extra early… (it’s only 30 minutes from my house).  The energy at the starting line is sooo intense… it’s team upon team, sizing everyone up… wondering who is what leg and what each others PR’s are. We were in the LAST heat of the day, leaving at 1PM with the goals were to pass as many teams as possible and Lake Placid or BUST.  I know a lot of people come to these things for the fun or the experience but my team came to win….

I was leg 11 and 2 out of 3 of my legs were at night.  Scary yes, but also kind of amazing.  It showed me that I could do it, I’m not a wimp and I am kind of badass.  I’m not going to lie there was one incident of getting lost but I quickly found my way and all was well…

team
van 2

320 teams, 197 miles, 22 + hours, 12 runners, 2 vans, very little sleep but a priceless experience none the less…. and while results say another team won, we are challenging that because we know that they weren’t in our heat even though they were suppose to be…. so for now I will say yes we got second, but hopefully in  a few days I will have some great news confirming that yes we were in fact number 1!

 

killzone
The number of teams our van passed!

 

7 thoughts on “What Up Wednesday and Guess What I Did?

  1. Glad that you had a second opportunity to do the Ragnar and jumped on board. Relays are a completely different experience than an individual race. Looks like you had a fantastic time!

  2. Yay! So glad you got to run! And win! That’s absolutely insane. The Ragnar Chicago winners averaged 5 something minute miles the entire time. By my third leg, my goal was to not lay down in the street, let alone run 5 minute miles. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

