Remember the time you bit off more than you could chew?!

I know, I know! I literally fell of the face of the earth and not in a good way. But come September this was me. I was working two jobs, trying to train for a marathon, just finished a Ragnar, Brady just started school, I got a new job, taking an online class, Michael got promoted and we moved… Sadly, something had to give and it was running and PLR. I will say that I did get an A- in my class, pretty pissed about the minus part but it was my first online class ever and it took me a few weeks to get in the groove. Yes, I’m pissed about the minus part (spoken like a true over achiever). However, life has settled down a bit and I’m loving my new job as a UPK Teacher.  I think I needed a break from running.  I possibly had over done it in the spring and I paid for it all summer.  I wasn’t hitting my times and I was tired during every run.  Ragnar was badass but I never even ran the marathon this fall.  I LOATHE signing up for a race and than not finishing it so for me that was the finale.  I knew that I just had too much on my plate.

While this may look amazing.... it's just not going to happen and that was my life for the last few months....
While this may look amazing…. it’s just not going to happen and that was my life for the last few months….

I have often mentioned taking time to reboot.  I think I needed it!  I don’t like to half ass anything and for the first time in my life, I was mediocre at best in everything I was doing.  I’m a real person, and what happens when  real person falls down.  They get up, pull themselves together, and keep going. It took a long time for me to pull myself together, but here I am… ready to go.  Boston is four months away and I’m back with a vengeance!

I know this is going to sound insane but I STILL can’t believe that I’m running Boston.  I have been running for 20 years and have gone through many different phases and run many different distances and the thought of ME actually doing it, just never seemed like it would happen. Every time I read something about the marathon I get choked up. I love running. I hate that I had to give it up the last few months, but I also believe that everything happens for a reason and it was necessary because I’m ready to rock! I’m not going to Boston to run, I’m going to race! It’s going to be a crazy four months, but I’m ready and my goals this cycle far exceed the ones from the last ones and I can’t wait to share my new year’s goals!

Anyways, yesterday started my new training cycle. I started out with four miles. My legs felt great but lungs felt like they were going to explode but here we are living to talk about it, lol.  After my run I went to Fleet Feet in Albany and got new running kicks and while I was there I got to talking with one of the people who worked there and they asked if I wanted to join their Distance Project.  It’s a group that trains together with an end goal of Boston.  I would love to say that I can continue to train alone and get better but I need something a bit more… I need to be pushed.  So, Michael and I talked about it and even though it’s 40 min away, we decided this would be best for me…. Most of my runs will be alone but I will get at least one work out and my long runs in with other people and that is what I REALLY need.

 

It was not pretty, but it's done....
It was not pretty, but it’s done…
3 thoughts on “Remember the time you bit off more than you could chew?!

  1. I’m sooo proud of you!!!! And YAY for your return!! I’ve missed you!! (Duh!)

    I think training with someone else will really push you a whole lot. When I started running with my running partner she did that for me. I miss her tons because right now she is having a baby and obviously our goals are different!!. But I can’t wait to have her back in my running life and I wish I had someone to run with now!

Leave a Reply

