Throw Back to 2014 & Jumping into 2015

When it came to running… 2014 brought many PR’s and many triumphs… well the first half anyway. The second half of the year, taught me a lot about myself as well and it made me really understand how important running and blogging is to me.  I set my goals big, so when I hit them it’s awesome and when I don’t, yes it’s a disappointment but it pisses me off and makes me work harder.

While I DID PR in the half I did NOT hit my goal of 1:30 which is a huge disappointment.  My best half last year was 1:33:40. So when it comes to the half, I’m not only ready to hit 1:30, I’m ready to CRUSH it.

delmarhalf
PR of 1:33:40 in the Delmar Half

Last year I ran one marathon and it was amazing! I know that they are not all that way and that is why I am grateful that the one that I did do qualified me for Boston with a time of 3:23:25, and it was a complete accident.  I trained for it in one month and the reward was so great.  I also ended up being 13 woman overall and 2nd in my age group.  I think we all need races like that, you know the ones that make you believe again.

20140726-224953-82193570.jpg

 

So this year my goal is to not only re-qualify for Boston for 2016, but to run 3:10 or better! It’s a huge goal but this year I’m not only blogging to keep my self accountable but I’ve also joined a running group because I’m ready for a real comeback and I’m pretty mad at myself that I didn’t run the fall marathon.  I’m not one to sign up for a race and not do it, but I didn’t want another Burlington Marathon on my hands because honestly, that would have done more damage than me just not running it.  But a 3:10 would not only qualify me for Boston but it would qualify me for NYC as well.  Anything faster is just a bonus in my world, lol.

Something I’m trying to do this year is make quality goals for myself and not overload myself with running too many races.  I love racing and if the races come they come and if I just put in mileage that is fine too. My goal is not to burn out and to stay as healthy as possible.  So my final running goal for 2015 is to clock 2015 miles by next Jan. 1st! I want to continue to run and enjoy the love of it.  At one point last year I was just going through the motions and I pretty much hated it.  That’s when I knew I needed a break.

I love blogging and I love the friendships that I have made through blogging.  Last year one of my goals to was simply start a blog, this year my goal is blog 5 out of 7 days a week.  If I can do all 7 I definitely will! But I have learned that trying to do too much can backfire and I would rather have quality than crap.

2014 was a pretty good year but I have a feeling that 2015 is going to be so much better.  What are some of your goals for the new year?

4 thoughts on “Throw Back to 2014 & Jumping into 2015

  1. You have no idea how happy it makes me to see blog posts from you!!! I have missed your face so much!!!! I totally understand how it goes…I fell off the planet a bit too. But blogging is so great and it’s totally fine to not write every single day of the week. That kind of obligation can take a lot of the fun out of it. Your friends are going to be here reading regardless! I’m just so glad to see you and I’m excited to hear more about how training is going so far! You had such an outstanding year and I’m so happy to have “met” you. One of these days we are going to need to get together for a race!

    I hope you and your family had an excellent holiday! YAY YOU’RE BACK!!!

    1. You’re so right, trying to come up with things everyday when I had soooo much going on was getting stressful and taking the fun out of it. I love blogging and the friends i hsbe made. I just want to continue to enjoy it… I have a feeling we will meet in the near future;) plus we have our glamping trip to plan💋

  2. I am so glad that you are back on the blog! I missed you these past months!!! It sounds like you have had a lot of time to reevaluate and connect with things that are important. I am so excited that you will be running Boston in 2015 and will try to qualify again for 2016. I will definitely be there in 2016 – so we must connect. That being said, I’m not sure where in NYC you live, but my husband and I will be traveling there sometime near the end of March and I will have a few days without him (he is going to be in work meetings all day for half our trip). We should try and connect if possible.

    Cheers to new goals in 2015!!

Leave a Reply

