Night Runner

My day begins at 525am when my alarm goes off.  I’m not a snooze kind of girl, I feel like that is a slow type of torture that I don’t really need that early in the AM because the bottom line is I’m just going to end up getting out of bed anyways and this way I will have a little extra time for the outfit that just doesn’t translate from my head to my body, my lovely children who never want to participate and fight with each other all morning or the extra time I may need to travel in the event of harsh weather (which we all know never happens in upstate NY, lol).  Anyways, I just can’t get up any earlier to go to the gym, so unfortunately my workouts have to come in at the other end of the day…. Night.

This is pretty much my morning... two littles ones who half participate in getting ready.  How I get us all out of the door in time I have no idea!
This is pretty much my morning… two littles ones who half participate in getting ready. How I get us all out of the door in time I have no idea!

I get out of work at 4pm, I got home, make dinner (depending on when I’m going to the gym I may just have a snack or skip and eat when I get home), play with the kiddos and at 7pm, Ella goes down for bed (she doesn’t always go to sleep, but we put her in bed), and then it’s fair game…. I can finally go to the gym.  Do I WANT to go to the gym? No. But at this point I have no choice so I do what I gotta do…so gym it is for this girl.  I typically go around 9 but tonight Michael wanted to come again, so my dad came up and sat with my non sleeping kiddos, so we left around 7.  I was kind of siked because it was still early enough to come home and hang out but late enough to beat rush hour…..or so I thought.

I walked into the gym and could feel the body heat because there was soooo many people.  I b-lined to my boyfriend and someone was on him.  I went into panic mode, but pulled it together because I had a mini workout to get done and I was going to have to do it without boyfriend.  I went in and changed and hopped on the treadmill next to Michael, just in time for the person that was on mine to get off…. (I could hear angels sing, lol). I ran over and scooped him up before someone else tried to steal him and began my workout. 4-7 with 2×10 minutes at marathon pace.

marathon pace was 7:08, and the rest was done at 8 minute pace... I'm getting there... slowly
marathon pace was 7:08, and the rest was done at 8 minute pace… I’m getting there… slowly

When I finished, I felt good…

Happy that I'm done not siked to go out into the -3 wintery night
Happy that I’m done not siked to go out into the -3 wintery night

As I sit here and type this I’m fighting to keep my eyes open.  I’m dying for a morning run.  I’d even take an evening run outside.  I just have to keep telling myself that their is a sweet prize in the end for all of this…. I’m already looking forward to summer vaca where I can wake up and go running.

Where are you doing most of your runs these days this wk? Do you face the cold or wimp out like me?

What‘s your favorite workouts?

 

2 thoughts on “Night Runner

  1. Wow, you get up SO early!! I know what you mean about the slow torture of hitting the snooze button. This happens every once in a while, although most mornings I am immediately motivated to make my way to the coffee. It’s the first thing I do every morning. Your place looks so cute!!! I love the twisty stairs and wood wall. It looks like you have a view too!!!

    1. I don’t even own a coffee pot or keurig. I’m not going to lie I’m lazy and I really love dunkin donuts coffee. I wish that I could have that delivered every morning to my house at approx 515am…lol. The staircase is a bit of a death trap lol. Beautiful asthetically…. just not great for children which is kind of the case for everything we own. We bought most of our furniture PK (pre kids) and it’s just not good! lol what was I thinkin?! I clearly did not have kids on the brain at that time!

Leave a Reply

