The Guy Who Says “Hello” to Everyone and My First Day Back

I’d been hoping all week that I was going to be rested and ready to return and unfortunately, it wasn’t to this AM when I started feeling “better”. It was -2 today and felt like -12, so you know what that means…. I’d be spending today’s run with my BF the treadmill and honestly after not running for almost a full week, I was totally ok with that.

IMG_4752

My plan was to hit up Target for some groceries and then hop over to the gym because they are literally across the highway from one another. So I pulled myself together and headed to Target to get some groceries.  As soon as I walk in I hear this guy behind me saying hello to everyone.  At first I thought he worked there, but he wasn’t in the Target-Khaki and Red. But I heard him saying “hello” to literally everyone he saw, he even would go out of his way to say hello to some people.  I was totally weirded out by the situation.  I was like, “wtf is happening? what is he doing?” So I made sure to stay many paces behind him because I didn’t know his next move and I wanted to be on the safe side.  One customer asked a worker about him and they said ” oh he is fine, he comes in about once a week and says hello to everyone”.  I could see that I was not alone in being weirded out. I let him disappear from sight and finished my shopping.  I headed over to my gym, got ready and hopped on my treadmill.  I was super siked to finally get something in… when I seen him stopping by machines and those lifting weights to say “hello”.  My anxiety shot through the roof, because I thought I had successfully dodged a bullet.  There was no hiding in bedding or in the toy isle, it was going to happen, he had already spotted me…and I was going to have to say hello back.  And about 1.5 miles in he forced me to make eye contact and said hello. I’m not a horrible person so of course I said hello back but it just really through me off. And like Target people were kind of wierded out by him.  He’s not aggressive and I guess he really is just a nice, happy person. My coach told me to do 4-6 miles and not to go any faster that 8 minute pace and I was more than happy to oblige because after not running all week 4 miles felt.like.hell.  But it’s done and it’s a step in the right direction…. I hope.

First Day Back!
First Day Back!

IMG_4756

On my drive home, I got to thinking about what my problem was with this poor guy?! He was doing nothing wrong, just being friendly and the world (including myself) was completely freaked out by him.  Has our society really come to this?! Where saying hello makes you a “weirdo”?! As I write this, I feel like a horrible person.  Maybe we could all learn something from the guy who wears rose colored glasses and says hello to everyone they meet.  Maybe the world would be a better place if we were all willing to simply say hello… I think that maybe somewhere in the middle is good…. I kind of hope I run into him again, I know that next time I definitely won’t run and hide in the doll isle and maybe, just maybe I will say hello first.

I guess there is something to be said about rose colored glasses
I guess there is something to be said about rose colored glasses

Sunday is long run day and Super Bowl Sunday….What are you doing for the Super Bowl?!

How do you come back and recover from the flu?

2 thoughts on “The Guy Who Says “Hello” to Everyone and My First Day Back

  1. I would probably react in a very similar way. I’m not big on conversing with people who I don’t know, especially while I am at the gym or running. I don’t encounter a lot of people like that in my hometown, but when I travel to big cities, it seems like there is always an encounter with someone acting abnormally. Most people are harmless, but still…

    Glad you are feeling better. Any good finds at Target? Love that store. Today we are hosting a small get together for the Super Bowl and are rooting for our Seahawks!!! I am soooo excited!!!

    1. Oh Kristen I always find stuff at target! I think I like it more than the mall:(
      Ps the guy was at the gym yesterday and I couldn’t say hi first! I tried but he’s so …. Aggressive with his hellos:(

Leave a Reply

