My LONGEST training run EVER!

Well, it’s been a weird weekend and I promise to fill you in on it all in a few days when I’m ready to talk about it… but for now I’m going to tell you about a huge accomplishment… my 19 miler this weekend.  I knew in advance that there would be no way that I would run 19 miles on my own, especially because in my last training cycle the furthest I went was 18, and that was almost of the death of me…. So I emailed my coach and I said no matter what I would be there. I know… I should be at every run, but the fact of the matter is that Albany is really quite a hike from where I live and some days the last thing I want to do on a Sunday morning is get up and go running…. I’m sorry, I know I shouldn’t say it but I’m saying it.

IMG_5555

But Sunday morning, regardless of all the things that were against me, I made it to practice without fuel and my watch.  I’m kind of a watch-a-holic on my long runs. Like obsessive checking of the watch. So the minute I figured out that I didn’t have my watch, I went into panic mode. I was already over half way there, so I had to suck it up and keep moving forward….

We did 2 x 9.5 mile hilly loops. I’m not going to lie after the first loop I kinda wanted to crawl in a hole and hibernate.  However, on my second loop I ran with another lady in my group named Cheryl and she pulled me through the next loop.  I don’t know if I can ever thank her enough, but she made me dig to places I didn’t know existed.  We didn’t even run it fast, but the hills were insane… by the end of the run, I felt like my legs were going to detach from my pelvis… I couldn’t believe that I actually made 19 freaking miles.  I felt like hell afterwards but just knowing I did it, showed me how much stronger I am than I thought I was. Next weeks goals:

Don’t forget watch and fuel

Run 21 miles on long run day

IMG_5554

I may do ok at Boston afterall…. I guess only time will tell…

Happy Monday Y’all!

Do you ever feel super nauseous after a long run?

What are some of your goals this week?

6 thoughts on “My LONGEST training run EVER!

  1. Congrats on an amazing long run! I can’t run that long alone either so I have to get up early Sunday mornings to meet with a group for company too. Those long runs are tough. Keep it up and good luck next week!
    Occasionally I’ll I feel really awful after a long run and can’t each much till hours later :/ Instead I nap it off when I need to.

  2. Woohoo! Yay to 19 miles and I have never felt nauseous after a run of the distance or longer but I have gotten headaches.

  3. Longest training run ever!? Way to go, girl!!! That must have felt pretty good and will give you encouragement for your 21-miler this weekend (I hope it went well, btw). My stomach definitely has it’s moments after a long run. I don’t ever feel nauseous, but I do often times get an upset stomach and have GI issues. Sometimes I get headaches as well, likely due to dehydration. It’s a lot for the body to deal with, which likely explains why you were feeling that way. I’ll be curious to see if you have the same symptoms after your 21-miler.

Leave a Reply

