My Boston Experience and the things that you aren’t suppose to say…

Let me begin by saying that the Boston Marathon is truly an amazing experience…. it definitely was not the perfect race but it definitely tested my heart, soul and body.  We arrived on Saturday and immediately went to pick up my bib and briefly check out the expo.  HOLY PEOPLE… seriously, it was sooo busy I could not believe it! I’m not afraid of crowds but it was insane!

I look like such a geek.... but I was overwhelmed and flustered...lol... at least I can laugh today
I look like such a geek…. but I was overwhelmed and flustered…lol… at least I can laugh today
This was once the furthest I would race.... oh how times have changed!
This was once the furthest I would race…. oh how times have changed!

After we got my bib we rushed to our hotel to check in and get ready for the game at Fenway.  Am I a Boston fan no, but I love watching live sporting events so it was an amazing opportunity….it was a bit chilly and we left around the 6th inning but it was fun none the less….

before shiz hit the fan...
before shiz hit the fan…

This is where I’m going to say what I’m probably no suppose to say but I’m semi ready to talk about it… MIchael and I have been having trouble and while he did come to Boston, it was a question whether he was going to or not leading up to the event. (Yes, stressful).  Saturday night, after the game, we got into a huge fight and he left. I was definitely a hot mess and at one point, actually multiple points I considered coming home, but I have some really amazing friends and they made sure that I didn’t give up my dream…. So Sunday morning I woke up and went and met up with some of my college girls who let me vent, cry and build me up.  We hung out and had a pre race dinner… we hung out for a bit after than I headed back to my hotel to get ready for my race.

IMG_6390
My college girls…. and I predict another reunion next year…
IMG_6391
East Side Bar and Grill… food was fantastic and so was the service

IMG_6370
pre race… no nerves just excitement

Going into this race I had to reevaluate some of my goals. First goal was to finish. Second goals was to re-qualify for Boston. Third PR. I woke up Monday morning in a pool of sweat.  I was coughing like crazy and my nose was leaking like a faucet.  I thought, crap, do I run? I feel like hell! I had only one answer… HELL YES, you are going to run and you will finish. So I got ready, grabbed a box of tissues from the hotel and was on my merry way.  I moved back a few corrals to run with my coach and he kept me in control and on pace for the first half of the race (thank god).  I was just trying to take it all in the first few miles but it was long after the gun went off that the rain started …. and sadly didn’t stop for the rest of the race.

I was running a great race and even seen my girl Nicole around mile 13, but around mile 22 my body started to shut down.  My hands felt like bricks, I could no longer feel my feet and I started feeling fainty.  I had no idea what my time was because the settings on my watch were all messed up but I knew I had a whole bunch of people cheering me on back at home and my number one fan was waiting for me….

IMG_6366
I got this race morning and totally lost it…. When I wanted to give up this was the picture I flashed back to knowing my girl was cheering me on from hundreds of miles away!

I crossed the finish line in 3:31:13… collapsing in some wonderful angel of a volunteers arms.  They immediately put me in a wheel chair and rushed me to the med tent.  They took off as much of my wet stuff as possible and started covering me with the silver blankets, I must have looked like a Thanksgiving turkey.  My temperature dipped down to 92 degrees! It was insane how cold I was and my feet were a lovely shade of smurf blue…I’m honestly shocked that I requalified because there was quite a bit of walking at the end but I’m definitely proud of my accomplishment. I did it, despite my set backs over the weekend.  I’m not only a strong woman, but I am officially Boston Strong.

Boston Strong
Boston Strong

I have been out of commision for a few days… and as sick as it sounds I’m already planning my next marathon… us marathoners are a special breed….

How was your marathon monday! It may be my favorite holiday of the year….

18 thoughts on “My Boston Experience and the things that you aren’t suppose to say…

  1. Sorry to hear that your weekend started out rough. All of us married folks have been there before though, right?! It sounds like you ran one hell of a race. Congrats on requalifying! Rest up, spend some time with your hubby, and get back out there! Congrats again!

  2. Congrats on your Boston finish!! I love how you said it might be your favorite holiday of the year – I say the exact same thing!!! Sounds like you had some stressful stuff going on besides just the fact that you were running the Boston Marathon and totally overcame it all. Amazing! It was a rough day on that course this year. No PR for me either but I was still loving it. Enjoy your recovery and rest up!

  3. I’m sorry to hear the weekend wasn’t great overall- hopefully you can focus on life at home for a bit before diving back into training again.
    Awesome job powering through the race after a stressful few days prior- and OMG finishing with a temp of 91! That is dedication! Congrats on requalifying!

  4. I’m so sorry about all the factors going against you, but you should feel so proud about your performance and ability to push through! I’m glad you got the medical attention you needed after finishing and I hope you feel better soon!!! You deserve a ton of rest now. Congrats!!

  5. I’m really proud of you for finishing the race!!! You are a trooper. Honestly it was a hard day. I woke up with a cold too! How random that you did too!!

    I’m sorry about you & Michael. The fact that you went on to have a great race is outstanding! That is really hard to do when your mind is preoccupied!!!
    Congratulations and yes we Will be seeing each other at more races…I know it!!!

  6. Massive congrats for finishing after such a difficult time. You’re one tough cookie!
    So sorry things have gone wrong for you but always remember you are a strong woman with plenty of people there to support you.

  7. Congrats!! Boston was not easy this year! Marathon Monday is the BEST kind of holiday! Which marathon is next? I’m running NYC in November – I can’t wait 🙂

  8. Congrats on your race! Requalifying is awesome and maybe next year will be the Boston experience you hoped for. Still, you should be very proud of your hard work to get there, your race and your finish!

  9. I’m obviously really late reading this but that is an amazing performance considering the circumstances you were dealing with! Great job!!

Leave a Reply

