Climbing That Ladder

If you want different results, you have to try different things…. This training cycle is truly like no other.  First of all, the climate.  NY vs. Florida: it’s like night and day at this point in the year and while training in the freezing cold was no joy, neither is training in weather that is scolding hot.  Also, this cycle I got an actual coach.  One that I have to report to after every workout and one that forces me to do track work outs! Unfortunately, with Michael’s work schedule lately, I have not been able to make them them in group but I am still required to do them on my own! Ladders on a treadmill is like dying a slow painful death…

My very best friend from home was down here this week. Spending time with her is like chicken soup for the soul.  We ran track together and middle school and have been inseperable since…. love… her! She’s stuck with us forever because she is Ella’s god mother;)

 

Between that and Michael’s work schedule I wasn’t able to fit my ladder work out in until Wednesday (it’s better than not at all;)) So I laced up my Newtons and put on my big girl running shorts and headed to the gym (ugh).  I did a mile warm up (even thought I wanted to do the 1/2 mile.  But I figure if I want to get my butt in shape, no short cuts), an 800, a 1200 and a mile at 9.1 on the treadmill which was around 6:35 pace.  Than I finished with another 1200 and 800 at 9.2. Than another mile cool down. Let me tell you, not only was I a sweaty mess, I was also like a pile of jello afterwards… a happy pile, but a pile none the less.

IMG_1982

As I am starting to get into shape I’m starting to feel optimistic about my plans for Boston…. however… for now, I need to get my butt in gear and head to the gym for a light run and rest for my “long run” of 7 miles tomorrow… God, I remember when that mileage was my short run…. looking forward to those days (never thought I would say that, lol)… Happy friday y’all!

7 thoughts on “Climbing That Ladder

  1. I was just thinking about how I needed to add ladders back into my workouts. Like you, 7-9 miles is now my long run. So far from where I want to be, but getting back into it a little more all the time! I’m so glad to be catching up with you! And so sweet that your best came down for a visit too. 🙂

  2. I have a ladder workout coming up in a few weeks – it might be next week. I forget. I do love those, though! I am assuming you are heading up to Boston this spring, yes?? We will have to try to meet up! It is the craziest up there but worth a try!!

      1. I’m also looking for some redemption in the marathon distance this year. Hoping to get it at Boston. I usually go Saturday through Monday and stay with my aunt and uncle in Brookline. We will make it happen!!

      2. Girl! I had soooo much hope for last year and fell apart towards the end… My temp dropped to 92…. This year, even though I will be flying, I’ll be packing smarter. Races are for learning… Lol. Let’s hope I’ve learned my lesson😳

Leave a Reply

