Creature of Habit…

I wish I could say that this is something new in my “old age”… but the reality is that I have always been a creature of habit and slightly OCD.  As long as I have run distance, I have always run my long runs on Sunday’s and it’s always worked out.  Well, this training cycle I said I wanted Sunday’s to be my rest day. Why would I do that?  Not only do I hate long run Saturdays, so does my body.

I set my alarm for 515am, as I do everyday of the work week. My alarm goes off, I turn it off. End of story for the last two Saturdays.  I text my coach this am and told him I need to switch my long run days to Sunday.  My body needs one day of “sleeping in”.  I use the term loosely because I’m not a big sleeper, but I need one day of not setting my alarm.

After my mini meltdown this am, I decided to go to work and work on some lessons for next week and spend some quality time with me babies.  One of my current favorite places here in Lakeland, is Lake Hollingsworth.  I call it my “happy place”.  So I packed up the kiddos and their bikes and headed there.  As soon as they seen the lake they were both in-love.  Elle said, “Mommy, this is so beautiful, ” and Brady exclaimed, “This is my favorite place mommy.”  They were hooked.

IMG_1996

 

They rode bikes and I ran along side of them and I was finally able to let go of the fact that I couldn’t drag my butt out of bed to make it to running group this am.  I’m all about trying something new, so today I’m trying the new idea of listening to my body.  I’ve always pushed my body through pain and exhaustion and in some ways it’s made me a better runner and in some ways it’s set me back.  And even more importantly I got to spend some quality time with these two little peeps….

IMG_2006.JPG

They are only little for a short time and I think I need to remember that more often.  While I would have loved to be down at that lake getting my miles in for today, what I did with my children was more important.  That long run will be there tomorrow, but the memories we made today will last them a life time….

IMG_1997

6 thoughts on “Creature of Habit…

  1. I’m also a creature of habit with Saturday long runs but this weekend I needed a break. So I ‘slept in’ Saturday and went on a family hike/run instead. I found myself both satisfied and conflicted. Now that it’s Sunday I’m going to run long in the freezing cold because it decided to snow overnight lol

    1. I love that you get it! I’m in a similar predicament this AM, there were storms all across western central Florida lastnight and this AM, it’s still crazy windy😳. I guess I’ll have a date with the treadmill after church!

  2. I’m not one for sleeping in but my body needs one day where I can wake up with no alarm, sit around and drink coffee and relax, and run at my leisure. During the work week, I have to be up so early (4am) to squeeze in workouts before work. By Friday, I am beat. I love Saturdays to revive myself and then Sundays to run long! It makes the long run less stressful 🙂

      1. Lol thank god!!! My bestie was getting on me… I’m like, Im awake! I.just.cant.do.it! I just really love my sunday runs! I’ve been running for over 20 years, I’ve always done my longer runs Sunday… Im sticking to it. And on a rare occasion I can get my butt up, sweet! But I don’t like the pressure lol!

Leave a Reply

