If You Keep Running, the Times Will Come!

Running has always been a part of my life, and I am blessed that after 21 years I can still do it.  Over the last 21 years, I have had some extreme highs and some extreme lows and a lot of time hanging out somewhere in the middle, but one thing that I have learned is that if I just keep going, the times eventually come.

After taking a mini hiatus from running (not really by choice but by lack of time), I feared that I may be out of the game mentally and physically for Boston.  The Marathon Game is very mental.  You can be in the best shape but if you talk yourself out, you are out.

On Saturday afternoon, my and the kids sat down in front of the TV and watched the Marathon Olympic Trials. Holy Inspiration!

 

I text my coach through the whole race! And it was just the motivation I needed to kick my butt off the couch and to try to put in a run! Coach said 3 miles… and boy did I rock it.

IMG_2459

Listen… I’m no all-star but after being out of commission I was willing to take 8 minute miles and somehow ran under 21 minutes with ease.  It felt natural and amazing.

On Sunday, I woke up and stalked instagram and seen this posted by Shalene.

It instantly brought tears to my eyes and I immediately sent this text to my bestie… and her response blew me away.  Sometimes we don’t even realize what an impact we have on other people… We have been running together for 20 years and I wouldn’t want anyone else by my side on marathon day…. Love her!

My coach told me to take it easy and do 5 miles…

IMG_2455

As I started my run, I felt good and when I came through mile one I realized that maybe I felt a little too good because I ran 6:52 pace! All I could think was “shit!” I went out too fast and that I needed to ease back…. I came through mile 2 in 6:52. I thought “ok, this feels good, lets just try to stay under 7….for the next 3 miles I managed to make that happen.  When I finished, I wanted to cry.  Not because it hurt, but because it felt soooo damn good.

I was feeling a bit sad about running heading into the weekend.  Worrying if I was ever going to feel like old Tantra… And then I got a really good pet talk from my friend…

“Think happy thoughts and believe in yourself.  You never give yourself enough credit.  The day you believe in yourself is the day you’re going to see yourself succeed beyond your wildest dreams.  Promise.” Tell yourself “I. Am. Good. Enough”.

Through that 5 mile run I just kept repeating that in my head… I am ready to take on the rest of my Boston cycle… I. Am. Good. Enough!!!! I got this!

 

IMG_2462

5 thoughts on “If You Keep Running, the Times Will Come!

  1. I LOVE this post so much. This is how I felt during my 10 miler race Saturday. I took it as a faster, long tempo run for my ultimate goal; Nashville marathon in April. And the miles flew by easy at a 7:05 min/mile clip. Believing is huge…and girl, you a fast woman!!

  2. I’m always happy to read your blog – it motivates and uplifts me!!! I’ve been struggling lately with getting faster – I have an overall goal of running 2016 miles this year so I’ve been focused on just getting my miles in each week… Today’s run wasn’t my best but it also wasn’t my worst and I have you to thank for that!!!! So keep on posting and running – I need you lol

    1. Trust me! Some days it’s a struggle! Some days are great and some I just get through it… My long runs the last few wks have been a struggle and I hate that feeling but we have to have the “bad” runs to appreciate the good ones

  3. That pep talk your friend gave you in incredible! Thank you for sharing it. This post helps me to feel super motivated! I can’t wait to get back out there and run!

Leave a Reply

